top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNicole

April Update

It has been almost a month since my last blog post. Flight training at my school has been banned for the time being, therefore, I don't have too many flight training updates. All of this free time from quarantine has allowed me to get some of my FAA written exams done.


Earlier in March, I took my Fundamentals of Instruction (FOI) written and scored a 94%. Towards the end of March, I took the Flight Instructor Airplane (FIA) written and passed with a 95%.

Yesterday, I bought a prep course for the Advanced Ground Instructor (AGI) written. I thought studying for the AGI would be a good use of my free time. I heard the AGI written is pretty similar to the FIA so I figured I would knock it out now.


I haven't flown in three weeks because my university put a ban on flight training. No one knows when flight training will open back up, but when it does, I will get my Multi-Engine checkride out of the way. I was so close to getting the checkride done before the ban happened. This will most likely push back my graduation a semester. On the bright side, I have still been working. We have been taking extra precautions at the airport to ensure our safety and the safety of our passengers.

Schoolwork, besides flight training, has been easy. My in-person classes have moved to Zoom. I have been able to get ahead in most of my classes by doing homework and exams early. I don't have too much left on the academics side of the semester, which has been a relief. I have straight A's in my classes which means I am on track to graduate with a 3.99 GPA. I set a personal goal my freshman year to graduate with a 3.99. My first semester of college, I received an A- which dropped my GPA. After that class, I made it a goal to get a 4.0 GPA the following semesters. Four years later, I have done just that. It hasn't been easy, but it was a goal I was determined to reach.


Although I can't do any flight training, I have been able to focus on my grades and the knowledge side of flight training. The current situation isn't ideal, but I am focusing on bettering myself in other areas besides flight training. I hope everyone is staying healthy and also trying to better themselves.

413 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page