top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNicole

Team 38 is Officially Registered for the 2020 Women's Air Race Classic


Rebecca (right) and I pictured with our plane.

I am back with another update on the Women's Air Race Classic! My team officially got approved for the race this week! My teammate, Rebecca, and I are ecstatic for the adventure ahead of us this June. This opportunity wouldn't have been possible without my current employer, Piedmont Airlines, for sponsoring our team. Rebecca and I will be representing the University of Nebraska Omaha as Team 38, the "Mavericks".


With the COVID-19 pandemic occurring, Rebecca and I were unsure if the race would still be a go. This week, the Air Race Classic told the media that they have no intentions of canceling the race this June. Our team will make sure to follow CDC recommendations to ensure our safety leading up to and during the race.


Rebecca and I both do our flight training at Oracle Aviation in Omaha, NE. We will be using one of their rental aircraft for the race, a beautiful 1974 Piper Arrow. The flight school has been nothing but supportive of our quest across the United States.


Rebecca (left) and I with our plane.

The race will begin June 23rd from Grand Forks, ND. We will then have legs in South Dakota, Wyoming, Colorado, Kansas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Illinois, Tennessee, and finally Indiana. The race terminates on June 26th in Terre Haute Indiana. It will be a long but also rewarding trek. I am thrilled to have this opportunity and to document every second of this adventure. Keep checking back for updates leading up to, during, and after our race! Until then, happy flying!


-Nicole

207 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page