top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNicole

2020 Women's Air Race Classic

The Women's Air Race Classic (ARC), formerly known as the "Women's Air Derby" and the "Powder Puff Derby" has brought female aviators together for decades. The race promotes friendly competition between female pilots. The first race dates back to 1929. That year, the route was between Santa Monica, CA and Cleveland, OH. The 2,400 mile route changes every year with this year's route starting in Grand Forks, ND and ending in Terre Haute, IN.

The 2020 Air Race Classic route. (Photo from: https://www.airraceclassic.org/)

Amelia Earhart competed in the first race back in 1929. I am very honored to announce that I will be carrying on the tradition that many trailblazers had started almost a century ago. This year I will be competing in my first Air Race Classic with my friend, Rebecca. We will be representing the University of Nebraska Omaha during the race. I am very honored to compete on my University's first ever ARC team.


Registration is only open until March 31st, 2020 or when 60 teams are registered, whichever comes first. I would strongly encourage any female pilot that meets the requirements to compete in the race at least once in their life. It is a great way to encourage the younger generation of females to fly. The requirements to race are:

-Two female team members

-Both team members need to hold at least a private pilot certificate

-Both team members need to have at least 100 hours of pilot in command time

-One of the team members needs 500 hours of pilot in command time or an instrument rating


I am very excited to compete this year. Keep checking in for blog updates leading up to, during, and after my race! Until then, happy flying!


51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page