top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNicole

Commercial Checkride Prep

Updated: Nov 17, 2019



This week I got my commercial checkride scheduled! I am going to take my checkride the second week of December. Today I even passed my final commercial stage check with our chief flight instructor! My commercial training is coming to an end. This means I really need to crack down on the knowledge portion of the checkride. Here are a few ways I am studying for the oral portion of the checkride.


1. The Airman Certification Standards (ACS)

I printed off the commercial ACS to help me study. For those of you who do not know what the ACS is, it is the FAA's guideline for checkrides. It is a very large document so I went in and deleted all of the pages that did not apply to me, such as multi-engine operations. This brought down the document to 80 pages, which I then printed off dual sided. Now I am in the process of going through the ACS page by page and highlighting important information and writing in notes.


2. Watching Mock Checkrides

YouTube videos and podcasts are two great sources for watching/listening to mock checkrides. I have watched and listened to both commercial and private checkrides. There are many more private pilot mock checkrides on the internet. I am watching the private pilot videos and podcasts since a commercial pilot is expected to know private pilot knowledge too.


3. ASA's Commercial Oral Exam Guide

The third source I am using to study for my checkride is ASA's Commercial Oral Exam Guide. I have used ASA's Oral Exam Guides for all of my checkrides. I typically read through the entire book twice. This helps me make sure I understand the different topics.


4. Pilot Owner Handbook

The fourth and final source I am using to study is the Cessna 172 pilot owner handbook (POH). I am going through the POH and tabbing out important information so that I have an easy way to access that information during the checkride. I am also highlighting important information throughout the book.


These are the four main sources I am using to prepare for my commercial checkride next month. If you have any suggestions to help me study, please feel free to contact me. I am open to any tips! I am very excited to finally become a commercial pilot! This is the first time I have ever felt truly confident in my flight training. I have always struggled with insecurities throughout my prior flight training. I am finally confident with my flying and that is such an amazing feeling.

324 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page