top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNicole

First Aerobatics Flight

I would be lying if I said aerobatic flying did not terrify me. That is exactly why I wanted to take my first aerobatics lesson. Being afraid of an airplane is dangerous. I did not want to be afraid of aerobatic flying. I wanted to step out of my comfort zone and learn as much as I could about aerobatic maneuvers. I wanted to learn how to get myself out of any attitude I could possibly get myself into while flying.

The 1978 Great Lakes biplane I flew for my aerobatics lesson.

This past summer, I received my tailwheel endorsement at Big Q Aviation at Mid-Way Regional Airport in Midlothian, TX. I traveled back to Dallas again over Labor Day Weekend to visit my sister. I decided to reach out to Big Q Aviation to see if I could stop by over the holiday weekend to do some flying. I did not know what to expect from my first aerobatics lesson. I knew very little about aerobatic maneuvers; I had never even spun an aircraft before. In addition, I had no idea how my body would handle the G's.


According to the G-meter on our airplane, the maximum G's we experienced during the flight were about 4 G's. Luckily, I did not pass out or vomit (I consider that a success!). My instructor briefed me on the ground over the different maneuvers we would be practicing. We started the flight with a few stalls, transitioned to spins, loops, hammerheads, and aileron rolls. My favorite maneuvers were the loops and aileron rolls! I had a blast seeing the Earth from 4,000 feet above the ground while upside down. To say I am hooked is an understatement! I have a new appreciation for the sport of aerobatic flying.

Not only my first time in an aerobatic plane, but my first time in a biplane and an open cockpit.

86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page