top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNicole

Life Update!


In the clouds logging actual instrument.

It is only Monday and I am on top of my blog post for the week! I have three exams this week and needed a break from studying. I don't know how much more information I can cram in my head about turbine and piston engines, so wish me luck! I had a great weekend full of flying. I logged seven hours over the weekend! During the summer, I was only flying about two hours per week so that I could spend most of my free time working. Ever since the fall semester started, I have been hammering out my flight hours so that I can get one step closer to my commercial checkride. Good news is that I finished my time requirement for my commercial syllabus this weekend, now I just need to schedule a stage check and get down to business with my checkride prep. I am not exactly sure when I will schedule my checkride. It has been hard to study for the checkride with all the exams I have been studying for. I have until the end of the semester to get my commercial certificate, so I am not in too big of a rush.


Over the weekend I got about two hours of actual instrument. I don't have much actual instrument time, so I was very happy to get into some clouds! On Saturday I flew to Madison, SD. On our flight home we had to divert for the night due to thunderstorms. It was the first time I have ever diverted for weather. Luckily, we were able to make it into Fremont, NE. I am very thankful for my mom and sister for driving to Fremont to pick us up in the middle of the storm. Sunday I had to ferry the plane back to Millard and then I took my cousin and her friend up for their first general aviation flight. We flew to Lincoln, NE and went to the Haymarket for a quick dinner before heading back to Omaha. In total, I logged about seven hours from these three flights. It was a fun weekend with a lot of great views.


This time next week I will be in Memphis for the University Aviation Association Conference. October is going to be a crazy month full of traveling for me. I start off the month going to Memphis, then I will be in Corpus Christi, and then Las Vegas. Make sure to check back in with a post regarding the trips. Until then, happy flying!

Saturday's sunset before the storm rolled in.

My cousin, her friend, and I with the plane in Lincoln.

86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page