top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNicole

Perfectly Imperfect



Recently I have been working on being satisfied with being imperfect. Growing up, I have always been a perfectionist. I am thankful for this due to the work ethic I have developed from it, however, I naturally set unrealistic goals for myself. No one but myself puts this pressure on me. I get so focused on a goal that it consumes a big chunk of my time, energy, and happiness.


One goal that has consumed a lot from me is receiving straight A's in my classes. I was a 4.0 student in high school and wanted to carry that work ethic into college. My first semester of college I received a B+ in one class and I told myself that I am not going to let that happen again. Here I am finishing my fall semester of my senior year with a 3.98 GPA because I have stuck to that goal. It hasn't been easy and I am just now realizing that the stress I put on myself to obtain that goal is not worth it.


This semester I have been actively working on my happiness. I am trying my best to stop stressing over the little things that won't matter in a year. A year from now, the last thing on my mind will be how I got a B in college. I know a lot of people would do anything for my grades and think I am silly for stressing over something so small. However, I put a lot of work into my grades. School doesn't naturally come easy to me. My grades are a byproduct of late nights of studying. I am glad the perfectionism in me makes me so passionate to succeed, however, I need to remind myself that I am not perfect nor will I ever be. I am a perfectly imperfect.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page